Devon Biodiversity Records Centre (DBRC) was established to gather, manage and disseminate data about Devon’s wildlife.  DBRC operates on a not for profit basis and has clear and transparent charging policies that aim to ensure the data is as accessible as possible.  DBRC also aims to disseminate data in the most appropriate formats, to ensure it offers maximum value to safeguarding biodiversity in Devon. 

DBRC do not attach a financial value to data flowing into its databases, or outwards through the data search service.  However, DBRC does reserve the right to make a charge for the time it takes for staff to extract, analyse and supply data to the enquirer (see data search charging policy).  Accordingly, any data provided to DBRC by the enquirer is done so in accordance with, and in support of the above principles.

We have an hourly or day rate depending on the size of your project.

  • Our commercial hourly rate is £130.00 per hour + VAT
  • Our commercial daily rate is £475.00 per day + VAT

Please contact us to tell us about your project and we will get back to you with a quote. Please note that for data searches we have standardized pricing for each size of data search.

If you are a conservation organisation, educational establishment or landowner, we can offer you a reduced rate. Please see our charging policy PDF below for further details.


Service Level Agreements

We also hold service level agreements and data exchanges with some organisations – please contact us if you are interested in setting one up. The following organisations have service level agreements with us already:

  • Clinton Devon Estates
  • Dartmoor National Park
  • Devon County Council
  • Devon Wildlife Trust
  • East Devon District Council
  • Environment Agency
  • Exeter City Council
  • Exmoor National Park
  • Forestry England
  • Mid Devon District Council

  • Network Rail Southern
  • North Devon District Council
  • Plymouth City Council
  • South Hams Council
  • South West Water
  • Teignbridge District Council
  • Torbay Council
  • Torridge District Council
  • West Devon District Council